About Our Chorus

The AGMC formed in 2008 after some of its founding members proposing the dream of starting a local gay men’s choral group. The chorus has grown in size and acclaim over the years, through its major concerts and appearances at various community events. In 2017, the chorus achieved its identity as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.  The AGMC frequently supports local LGBTQ+ and LGBTQ-friendly organizations such as the Pride Center of the Capital Region, In Our Own Voices, the Damien Center, the Capital Area Council of Churches, First Presbyterian Church, and the Gay Lesbian and Straight Education Network (GLSEN).  The Chorus performs a variety of music, including but not limited to, pop, musical theater, classical, standards, and jazz. We have collaborated with various musical groups such as the Capital Pride Singers and visiting guest artists. We perform two concerts a year and donate 10% of the proceeds to various non-profit charitable organizations.  



Vision Statement

The Albany Gay Men’s Chorus seeks to honor the value of our LGBTQ+ legacy and to achieve recognition as a vibrant performing arts group.

Mission Statement

The Albany Gay Men’s Chorus provides quality musical experiences to enlighten and inspire our community, and to celebrate diversity and equality. 

Board of Directors

Steven Bush.png

Robb Ganns


​​​​Ben Weber

 Vice President

Steven Bush


Mark Simone


Tom Bubnack


Artistic Staff 

Benjamin April

Artistic Director

Chorus Members

1st Tenor

Benjamin Weber

Evan Brooksby

Joshua Gonyea

Leonard Bopp


Thomas McComb

2nd Tenor

Bob Willower

Derek Carey
David Shove
Keith Stroebele Louis Leatso, Jr. Mark Simone

 Robb Ganns
Sean Goudy William McGlothlin


Anthony Amitrano Dean Dupuree Duane Hafley Joseph Schmid John Minasian Jose Morales

Kess James Robert Englert Richard Conti

Tas Steiner

Tom Bubnack


Aaron Bush Andrew Nelson Chris Fuller Jerry Nathan Steven King Steven Bush

Terry Provost Tommy Lewis

Singing Members

on Leave of Absence

Andrew Gillcrist

Joel Harrington

 Ulysses deArmas

 Vince Dandrea

 Michael Davis

5th Section  (volunteers)

Tony Harrington (Chair)

Hamad Alghareeb

David Bonitatibus

Ed Countermine

Jim Ersland

Debbie Mailhotte

David Reed Jr.

David Reynolds

David Rustin

Janet Stark

Randy Stein

Emile VanSein